Art practice: “Blue Sky, Green Hills”

My wife cajoled me into painting an acrylic piece (she did her own piece, and I did mine).

For reference, we used one of the paintings featured in the book “Art school : a complete painters course” by Patricia Monahan, Patricia Seligman, Wendy Clouse. ISBN: 9780600614135
Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields"

Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields"

This was her paint palette (she bought a “stay wet” palette).
Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields"

I started my piece by sketching the outlines of the hills, in pencil.
Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields" (1 of 7)

The fun part starts: I applied a mix of blue and white to the sky.
Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields" (2 of 7)

Then started on the green hills, working towards darker colours (in Acrylics, you work from dark to light — but I’m never one to follow the rules strictly):
Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields" (3 of 7)

Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields" (4 of 7)

Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields" (5 of 7)

When the painting was almost complete, I decided the sky needed a touch of gray and some reflection of the green. If not, the sky was a bit too plain looking.
Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields" (6 of 7)

The completed painting. Took about 2 hours, slightly less.
Art practice: "Blue Sky, Green Fields" (7 of 7)

2 thoughts on “Art practice: “Blue Sky, Green Hills”

  1. Hi Ivan, now that I see this… hmmm should have taken it! But I shan’t be too greedy. Thanks for the house-warming gifts. We love them. You are truly creative.

Comments are closed.