Discovering Post-rock

A few nights ago, I couldn’t sleep and so went over to YouTube to pass the time.

That led me to discover the Post-rock band “God Is An Astronaut” (what a name!)

Oh my.

Was totally mesmerized by this track (from their 2008 album), “Loss”.

Just about every track by them was super. “Loss” was my favourite, I posted at Facebook. The melodic progression was just brilliant. There was a bitter-sweet sense of stoic heroism in their music.

Decided to buy their music.

That’s not the only thing.

Daniel Sassoon left a comment at my Facebook post. Which was a timely reminder for me to check out his band, “In Each Hand A Cutlass“. I had an inkling about his band but never made time to listen to the music.

I don’t deny that it took an out-of-Singapore Post-rock band to connect me with a Singapore-based one.

What’s more important is that I made another purchase that day. Their sampler sealed my conviction to buy their album.

Was in a Post-rock mood the whole day after that.

Felt compelled to post this comment:

Is it just me, or does listening to Post-rock makes the head dip and heart soar? I just went over to give my wife and the dog a hug. Just felt like it. Too happy to care that this update sounds weird!

A few friends wondered what was Post-rock. I had a vague definition. Daniel gave a better explanation:

What exactly post rock is is hard to describe – at its most basic level it’s (normally) instrumental music that’s more about cinematics, atmospherics, tension and release rather than instrumental prowess and flashy playing (there are exceptions of course). Check out bands like Explosions In The Sky, Mogwai, Russian Circles, This Will Destroy You, Red Sparowes, This Patch Of Sky, Caspian, Saxon Shore, Godspeed! You Black Emperor, Ef, Tangled Thoughts Of Leaving, If These Trees Could Talk, God Is An Astronaut, And So I Watch You From Afar, Hammock, Lowercase Noises and of course locally, I Am David Sparkle.

When I first started learning how to play the guitar, armed with only 4 to 5 basic chords, I kept playing repeated melodic patterns over and over. Now that I thought about it, it sounded a lot like Post-rock. Heh.

Anyway, am definitely checking out those bands.

And have also gained a new musical inspiration for 2012.

I might try composing a Post-rock album. Part of the learning and experimentation process.

One thought on “Discovering Post-rock

  1. Pingback: Works-in-progress: 2012 post-rock inspired album « Starfish Stories :: The Band

Comments are closed.