“What an Owl Saw from the Rafters” (#342: Project 365 Sketches)

Final version: "What an Owl Saw from the Rafters" (#342: Project 365 Sketches)

“What an Owl Saw from the Rafters” (#342: Project 365 Sketches)

2013, Sun 8 Dec. This was one of my initial concept art for the Pitch Feather 2013 Christmas album. This was sketched on my iPhone during that day’s morning commute. In the end, another concept sketch was selected over this one (the finished work here, #329: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ramblinglibrarian/11048350744/). I thought to touch it up today and upload as a finished digital sketch. Their Christmas album title was “In a Manger”, which made me think of the Nativity scene. Rather than the typical ground level view, I toyed with the idea of a view from the rafters (do mangers have rafters?) I was imagining what an owl or nocturnal bird might see as it perched at the top. An advanced Merry Christmas to all who celebrate it.

[Sketch Club app; iPhone. #365sketches #SGmemory CC-BY-SA]

Btw, two other versions that were uploaded to Flickr.

This was the original before I applied an orange overlay. I decided to go with a warmer tint for the final version. I think this version works if I wanted to portray an early dawn or a cold unheated manger, where there’s slightly cooler tints from the cold air.
"What an Owl Saw from the Rafters" (#342: Project 365 Sketches)

This was using one of the Flickr app filter, which gave a softer but slightly bleached feel.
Flickr filter version: "What an Owl Saw from the Rafters" (#342: Project 365 Sketches)

