“In a Manger” (#329: Project 365 Sketches)

"In a Manger" (#329: Project 365 Sketches)

“In a Manger” (#329: Project 365 Sketches)

2013, Mon 25 Nov. When Singapore indie band, Pitch Feather, made an open call for a contributing artist to do an album cover for their 2013 Christmas album, I volunteered immediately. I love their music. They graciously accepted my offer. Based on a mood board they came up with, I sent a few rough sketches their way. We agreed on a version inspired by a 1912 painting “The Stable At The Inn” by American artist N. C. Wyeth (1882 – 1945), based on the colours that Pitch Feather asked for. I opted to use the ‘mother and child’ as focus. I figured the album image will be reduced in pixel size eventually, so too much details in the image will become quite muddled. Please check out Pitch Feather’s 2013 Christmas song cover, “Away In A Manger” soundcloud.com/pitchfeather/away-in-a-manger (thanks for having me as part of your annual project!)

[Corel Painter 12; iMac. #365sketches #SGmemory CC-BY-SA]

