“Citrus Grandis” (#292: Project 365 Sketches)

"Citrus Grandis" (#292: Project 365 Sketches)

“Citrus Grandis” (#292: Project 365 Sketches)

2013, Sat 19 Oct. The scientific name for the Pomelo fruit has a nice ring to it: Citrus Grandis. Some Chinese believe that using pomelo leaves to sprinkle water, or in a ritual bath, can help dispel ill luck. This morning, a friend asked me to buy some for him. It took me 1.5 hours of walking around my neighbourhood wet market before I managed to find them. Interestingly a Chinese shopkeeper was helpful in pointing me towards the shop that sold the leaves. And the Indian lady who sold them smiled at me when I dropped by her small stall. I felt pretty lucky and happy when I bought the leaves. I remembered the feeling when I made this abstract iPhone digital painting.

[Sketch Club app; iPhone. #365sketches #SGmemory CC-BY-SA]

