“Grandfather Dragon” (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

“Grandfather Dragon” (#27: Project 365 Sketches)
"Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)
Sketch Club app; iPad | Hi-Res image (1536 x 2048).

2013, Sun 27 Jan. This started, earlier in the month, as an accidental doodle and discovering the mirroring feature in the app. The doodle looked like a dragon’s face and I expanded on that. It took me about a week and several tried to compose a satisfactory pose. #365sketches

How it was done
1. This was done with the Sketchy tool, set to mirror. I started with the eyes and worked outwards to make the head.
Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

2. On a separate layer, I did a quick sketch of a pose. Getting a satisfactory pose was the hardest part for me. Various versions as follows.
Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches) Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

3. These were too snake-like.
Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches) Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

4. This looked more promising and at that point, I thought this would be the final version.
Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

5. I did a quick paint layer, to get a feel of the possible colour scheme to adopt.
Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

6. When I revisited the sketch, I decided the earlier pose wasn’t quite it. I managed to find a reference on Google images and adapted the pose.
Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

7. After painting in the body area, I discovered a happy unintended accident: setting a Fill layer to an Overlay setting created an interesting and somewhat glowing outline effect. I decided that would make a nice deep blue-black dragon. I used an Eraser tool to ‘paint’ the outline. Then utilised a Brush setting and ‘erased’ out the body highlights.
Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches) Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches) Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

8. I shifted and downsized the head slightly, then brushed in the head colouring.
Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches) Tutorial: "Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

9. Then it was more detailing, painting in the wispy clouds (Particles setting) etc.
"Grandfather Dragon" (#27: Project 365 Sketches)

