“J.J.” (#19: Project 365 Sketches)

“J.J.” (#19: Project 365 Sketches)
"J.J." (#19: Project 365 Sketches)
Sketch Club app; iPad

2013, Sat 19 Jan. My friend from my National Service days, Kenneth, asked me to draw his cats (he has two, I discovered). I looked up his FB album. Was drawn to a photo where his arm was draped over his cat. The cat had this cute contented look on its face. I asked Kenneth what it’s name was. Hope you like this rendition of “J.J.”, Kenneth. #365sketches

How it was done

1. Selected this image from Kenneth’s album. It was grainy and taken in low light. But there’s enough details to make a sketch. I liked that contented look on his cat’s face. Did a quick visual study and felt I could produce something reasonable.
Tutorial: "J.J." (#19: Project 365 Sketches)

2. I loaded the image to the app, then traced the key outlines.
Tutorial: "J.J." (#19: Project 365 Sketches)

3. Used a combination of a ‘Sketchy’ tool, Pen (calligraphy setting) and ‘Fur’ tool.
Tutorial: "J.J." (#19: Project 365 Sketches)

4. Added two Fill-layers (Overlay setting) to get that rusty brown colour.
Tutorial: "J.J." (#19: Project 365 Sketches)

5. Majority of the time was spent detailing the sketch. Erased the excess brush strokes, lightened the outlines, accentuated highlights. At one point, I realised I’d sketched the body fatter than it was. Trimmed it down with an Eraser tool (lower opacity setting to get a softer look).
Tutorial: "J.J." (#19: Project 365 Sketches)

6. Finally added the background, whiskers. Also noticed I’d missed a collar, so that was painted in.
"J.J." (#19: Project 365 Sketches)

