Curled Up (#5: Project 365 Sketches)

“Curled Up” (#5: Project 365 Sketches)
"Curled Up" (#5: Project 365 Sketches)

2013, Sat 5 Jan. Woke up and saw my dog curled up in his usual sleeping posture.
#365sketches

How it’s done
Sketch Club app; iPhone.

1. I used the Sketchy tool/ freehand and drew rough shapes. If you’ve used the app, you will be more impressed with the app than my drawing abilities 🙂 The app’s brushes automatically creates smooth professional looking lines.
Tutorial: “Curled Up” (#5: Project 365 Sketches)

2. Next, I cleaned up overlapping lines with the Eraser tool. The Sketchy tool creates something called the “fallout” effect, so you get the shading.
Tutorial: “Curled Up” (#5: Project 365 Sketches)

3. Finally I added lines to show the mat, which my dog was lying on, and the horizon line to give a sense of space/ depth. I experimented with a heavier shading but it seemed too messy. The final version is this cleaner line drawing.
Tutorial: “Curled Up” (#5: Project 365 Sketches)

