Man in the train (#4: Project 365 Sketches)

Man in the train (#4: Project 365 Sketches)
Man in the train (#4: Project 365 Sketches)

2013, Fri 4 Jan. My first ever “in the MRT” train sketch. This guy was clutching his backpack, his left hand scrolling away on his phone. I happened to be standing right in front of him. Thought I might as well sketch him.

His right hand too much oversized for my liking. I suppose it conveys the sense that he’s a pretty stout bloke. #365sketches

How it’s done
SketchClub App, iPhone.

1. Outlined using a Pen setting (had to use my thumb to draw). I concentrated on the lines, of the actual live subject, that caught my eye.
Tutorial: Man in the train (#4: Project 365 Sketches)

2. I continued refining the sketch after the train ride. The major outlines was already captured, so I relied on memory. The main thing was not to maintain the clean lines rather than complicating things. Adjusted the opacity settings to give the illusion of depth. Further refinements were more at a “micro” level. I zoomed into individual lines, used the Eraser tool too clean things up.
Tutorial: Man in the train (#4: Project 365 Sketches)

4. Final review stage. The head appeare dented. Erased the portion.
Tutorial: Man in the train (#4: Project 365 Sketches)

5. Used a Smooth line tool (or maybe it was a Brush tool), made several attempts to create a smooth seamless line for the erased portion (basically Undo and try again). Also added a ring on his finger (i remembered the man wore one).
Tutorial: Man in the train (#4: Project 365 Sketches)

