Legends of Bukit Merah – Set

A 15 year-old Singaporean student (let’s call him XJ) emailed me recently:

Hello Mr. Chew,

I am a 15 year old Singaporean student who has been asked to give a presentation on any Singaporean folk stories for a special ‘International Culture Day’ to younger children. I then proceeded to choose the ‘Red Hill’ story, of Bukit Merah to present. Since younger children would likely require visual aids to listen to the story, I then searched online for any illustrations of the story. I have found only a few pictures at the NLB site, but not all. Would it trouble you to send me the High-resolution comic strips? It would be an immense help to me if you did.

Thank you very much!

Since he asked so politely, I decided to respond to him quickly. I asked for more information on what his presentation was about. Turned out he was studying in an international school (which made sense for a local myth to be shared for Cultural Day). He also elaborated on how he intended to protect my intellectual property rights by offering to watermark each image, destroying the images and not disposing in a public bin even. Also offered to delete from his computer.

I wrote back to say he didn’t have to do all that. Mentioned about my CC-BY license, and basically said he could keep it and handle the images as he deemed fit, as long as he credited them as how I wanted.

So here’s the set of 10 images at Flickr (text search “legend of bukit merah page myrightbrain.wordpress.com”)

Individual images
Page 1
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 5
Page 6
Page 7
Page 8
Page 9
Page 10

From Page 7:
Legend of Bukit Merah Page 06 - MyRightBrain.wordpress.com
Please credit to “Ivan Chew – MyRightBrain.wordpress.com”

4 thoughts on “Legends of Bukit Merah – Set

  1. This series of comic strips brings back fond memories. It’s really nice that you were able to take the opportunity to share about CC with the boy. In the digital age where young people usually take and use stuff and pass it on as their own without regards for IP, it is rare indeed for the boy to ask.

    • I’m fully prepared that by offering these larger-sized images on the Internet, there might be plenty of users who will make use of it without crediting them the way I want them to. But it’s something I’m prepared for. If it helps them in some way, I consider it as good karma points for me 🙂

  2. Hi Ivan,
    Thank you for your beautiful illustration which I came across while searching for questions to set a quiz on for use during my school’s national day quiz on ‘DO YOU KNOW SINGAPORE’

    History & Social Studies Teacher,
    Tan Swee Hong
    CHIJ Katong Convent

    • Hi Swee Hong, you’re welcome. So nice to know the illustrations continue to be useful. Best regards, and I appreciate the comment.

Comments are closed.