My Fender Stratocaster

Two weeks ago, I bought a pre-owned (OK, call it “used”) Fender Stratocaster. From Guitar77 (basement of Peninsula Excelsior Shopping).

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

I checked the Fender website serial numbers (mine’s a Mexican model). Must be something built in 1996 or 1997 (more pictures below).

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

Fender Stratocaster

Why did I buy this?

Part indulgence, and part curiosity. Now that I’ve tried a Les Paul and also a bass, I thought it was time to try out a Strat. Meaning, it would be something I would use (rather than buy on a whim and then be an expensive dust collector).

I didn’t want to spend too much on one though. A friend told me they might have used models at Peninsular. I dropped by one day with the intention to try rather than buy. The Guitar77 outlet was the second shop I visited that had used Strats. Asked if I could try a few on display. Decided this one was it. Somehow the sound was more mellow than the new model. And cheaper too.

It’s got some superficial blemishes — cracked paint job, scratches, rust spots.

But the neck feels really RIGHT and the body just resonates. I guess this is a sign of old age/ maturity. I no longer go for looks that much. It’s the feel and sound that matters.

[note: The photos are licensed under a CC-BY license, and can be found as a set here.]

