ccMixter remix: Ganesh Atharwa Sheersha (ft. Oxana)

When I first heard Oxana’s vocals (from Carosone’s upload), something clicked right away. Even though I did not understand the words, other than the “Om Namaste” at the beginning.

Ganesh Atharwa Sheersha (ft. Oxana)

Creative Commons License
Ganesh Atharwa Sheersha (ft. Oxana) by Ivan Chew is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Singapore License. Based on a work at starfishstories.wordpress.com. Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://starfishstories.wordpress.com/ .

LINK

I played the vocals to a rough instrumental track that I’ve kept for the longest time. It seems to fit. But I was hesitant to chop up the pell, as cultural and religious sensitivities might be involved. That much I recognised.

A friend, who knew a bit of Sanskrit, gave me good advice. Chop up the pell between the pauses. Then I won’t run the risk of juxtaposing wrong words.

I went entirely by ‘feel’, if you will. Arranged the vocals to where it sounded and felt right.

The choice of the instruments were both practical and philosophical. There’s a blend of western orchestra strings, Indian percussion, Sitar, Indian flute, Chinese percussion, and the Erhu. It’s a reflection of the society and country where I’ve lived all my life (and still do).

Right after I completed the remix, I found this text! OK, the song has feelings and meaning for me now.

I hope this song works for you. If there’s any objections to this remix, let me know.

