Rain in a Bamboo Forest

[From 2nd warm-up exercise]

This is the 3rd and final warm-up painting.

I wanted to create a Chinese Painting effect. Didn’t quite make it though. Everything looked too blurry and ill-defined.

In the end, I applied acrylic paints to give a stronger dark tone. Then flicked some green and white paint. That seemed to work. It gave the painting more substance. The blurry background now seemed like some misty backdrop, rather then the previous mass of green stuff.

And so I called it “Rain in a Bamboo Forest”, heh.

Rain in a bamboo forest
Watercolour and acrylic on sketch paper.

Next: “Painting with acrylic – Still Life“.

7 thoughts on “Rain in a Bamboo Forest

  1. Pingback: Painting with acrylic: Still Life « My Right Brain

  2. Wow Article , I thought it was marvelous

    I look forward to more similar postings like this one. Does This Site have a RSS I can subscribe to for updates?

Comments are closed.