Painting with acrylic: Still Life

[From 3rd warm-up exercise]

This was the “real deal”.

Stage 1: Pencil sketch on (pre-primed) canvas.
Stage 1

Stage 2: Applying the first coat of paint. At this stage, I was focusing on adding a single base coat, so to speak. Not blending any colours.
Stage 2

Stage 2.1: After the first coat, I decided to fill in the darker tones, as a base.
Frankly, after the first layer of paint, I was winging it from then on. Didn’t really know what to do. At this stage, the painting didn’t look good. But the trick was to continue adding layers, blending.
Stage 2.1

Stage 3: By now, I’ve got maybe 3 or 4 layers of paint (I figured that objects nearer to the front should get more layers, hence more details and textures).
Stage 3

Finished work: Final touches are the highlights for some of the objects.

Finished work
“Still Life”
Acrylic on canvas.
Ivan Chew. Nov 2008.

The perfectionist in me isn’t happy with the colour tones and blending. But I can’t complain and have to be realistic. It’s been 10 years since I last attempted painting with acrylics.

Overall I’m happy with how this painting turned out, considering it took only about 4.5 hours to complete.

I gave this painting to my colleague, who manages Choa Chu Kang Public Library. She says she’ll hang it up in her office 🙂

6 thoughts on “Painting with acrylic: Still Life

  1. Your painting is excellent. Think if I attempt this, my apple will become a peach, grapes will become a bunch of green leaves and chillis become “3 red sticks” ! Haa haa.

  2. LOL. You just need pointers, that’s all. I believe “artistic talent” is really about 20% in-born and 80% training. If it’s not for training and practice in Fine Art during my younger days, I would also have painted a peach, green leaves and red sticks 🙂

  3. Pingback: Rain in a Bamboo Forest « My Right Brain

  4. Pingback: Painting with acrylic: Still Life « My Right Brain

Comments are closed.