Podcast: Wanna Be With You

Here’s a song that was inspired by the last Songcraft meetup in March 2008.

I dedicate this to my wife. 🙂

WANNA BE WITH YOU
Listen/ download at ARCHIVE.ORG
Music: Ivan Chew
Recorded, mixed and engineered with GarageBand.
Lyrics, adapted with permission, from Betty and Huiling.

My singing’s passable at best. If anyone wants to improve on the song, go right ahead (see: Creative Commons license). Or if you don’t have GarageBand, you can record your vocals only and email me. I’ll work it into the song and add you to the credits.

Sequence of events:
At the March 2008 Songcraft meetup, Jerron performed one of his songs (I can’t remember which one at the moment). His songs had the chords C and probably a G in there.

Next to perform was Betty and Huiling. Their song was titled “I just wanna be with you” (on a totally different chord and arrangement). The two ladies passed around slips of paper with the lyrics.

After they sung their song, and was in the midst of explaining how they collaborated on it, I picked the C and G chords on the guitar and mentally sung the first two lines of their song. It sounded quite nice, I thought.

Then I was suddenly inspired to spontaneously sing aloud the lyrics to the whole group (something I’ve only done maybe once in all of my past songcraft meetups). It sounded nice in spite of my singing. So I decided to develop it into a full-fledge piece.

There’s no break or bridge. Just a simple and straight-forward stanza/ chorus arrangement, as you can see below.

CHORDS:
[main] C/ Am/ F/ G
[chorus] F/ Am/ C/ G

LYRICS:

[1]
Oceans blue, flowers bloom
I just wanna be with you
Bright round moon, lovebirds’ croon
I just wanna be with you

[2]
Purple sky, mountains high
I just wanna be with you

[Chorus 1]
Everywhere that I go,
I wish somehow you were here
By my side to share these times
I just wanna be with you

[Repeat 1]

[Chorus 2; repeat]
Everywhere that I go,
I wish somehow you were here
Hold me tight all though the night
I just wanna be with you


Creative Commons License

This work by Ivan Chew is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License. For permissions beyond the scope of this license , please contact via RamblingLibrarian@gmail.com.

RamblingLibrarian’s Podcasts:
My Odeo Podcast

Technorati Tags: , , ,

5 thoughts on “Podcast: Wanna Be With You

  1. Pingback: Guitar Instrumental - “Just Wanna Be With You” « :: Starfish Stories :: The Band

  2. Pingback: 2008 discography « My Right Brain

Comments are closed.