Podcast: “真正的爱情 (True Love)”

It’s my first attempt at writing and singing a mandarin song! And I wanted to sound like the Taiwanese rock band, Shin (信樂團 or Xin Yue Tuan).

Lyrics adapted with permission from an original composition by Hui Leng (you can listen to her song here; lyrics at this songcraft post).

“真正的爱情 (True Love)”

Listen/ download at ARCHIVE.ORG

My command of Mandarin isn’t that good. Spoken Mandarin is so-so; written is terrible. So a big thank you to Hui Leng for giving permission to adapt her lyrics!

I played around with the E/ A/ C#m chords. Hummed to Hui Leng’s original lyrics (but not her original tune, ‘cos I wanted a rock song). Then the words “他们说/ 真正的爱情必须经过考验” seemed to fit and a melody formed in my head. I worked out a rudimentary chorus and stanza.

Frankly, I was just moving Hui Leng’s lyrics around like a lego-set, matching the words to my rather limited Mandarin vocabulary. Some words I had to listen to how Hui Leng sang them, and I just guessed their meaning.

I’m sure the lyrics can be improved. But my primary aim was to try if I could compose and sing a Mandarin song.

真正的爱情 (“True Love”)
Original composition by Ivan Chew (MyRightBrain.Wordpress.com)
Lyrics adapted with permission from an original composition by Hui Leng.

~
[1]
E
他们说
B#m
真正的
G#m
爱情必须
A
经过考验

E
但如太
B#m
辛苦是否
C#m/ B#m/ A
应该放弃

*

[2]
E
漫步在
A
月光里
E/ A
听见你的声音
E
和你在
A
在一起
E/ A
依偎在你怀里

C#m
我思念你
B#m
在这夜里
A
你的笑容总是在我眼前
C#m
只在梦里
B#m
我问自己
A
什么时候还会再见到你

*

REPEAT [2]

*

[3]
E
他们说
B#m
真正的
G#m
爱情必须
A
经过考验
E
但如太
B#m
辛苦是否
C#m/ B#m/ A
应该放弃

E
他们说
B#m
真正的
G#m
爱情必须
A
经过考验
E
如果想
B#m
继续/ 怎么能
C#m/ B#m/ A
轻言离去

*

[4]
F#m – A
在这夜里
F#m – A
我思念你

*
Repeat [3]
*

~
Ivan Chew, Oct 2007
~

Brief explanation of the lyrics (my translation skills isn’t perfect):
[3] They say that real love needs to be put to the test
But should I give up if it gets too difficult?
They say that real love needs to be put to the test
If we were to pursue our love
How can we part just because of what people say

[2] Walking slowly in the moonlight
I hear your voice
With you together
In your embrace
I’m missing you here tonight
I constantly see your smile
Only in my dreams do I ask when we’ll be together again

Let me know what you thought of this song. 🙂


Creative Commons License

This work by Ivan Chew is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License. For permissions beyond the scope of this license , please contact via RamblingLibrarian@gmail.com.

RamblingLibrarian’s Podcasts:
My Odeo Podcast

9 thoughts on “Podcast: “真正的爱情 (True Love)”

  1. Gooooo work brother ~ I liked the part on mid and end of the part with singing in chorus… I just was thinking what if you add to play with a fluty chinese instrument …

  2. LOVE IT!! i am really bad with my Chinese stuff but i am recently picking up chinese albums and this is really great stuff!! keep up the great work and hope to hear a chinese album ?

Comments are closed.