Colour Fields Colr Pickr by KrazyDad

[Learnt about this via It’s all Good]

Colr PickrHere’s a neat experimental art-related tool called “Flickr colour fields Colr Pickr” from KrazyDad. Just click on a colour segment to see related flickr images. Play around with the slide bar on the right to adjust the colour tones.

KrazyDad adds that:

To those that question the utility of this little application, let me point out that it is a toy — like all the stuff on my website. Its purpose is simply to provide wonder and delight. Nothing more, nothing less. Isn’t that enough?

Toy or not, it’s a useful tool for someone like me searching for web images to use as references and inspiration for art projects. For instance, if I want to draw something that conveys something warm, I could look up the oranges and reds in Colr Pickr to see related images from Flickr. Or if I’m looking for references on clouds, they’d probably in Blue. Can’t visualise a fern leaf? Try a green colour… you get the general idea.

Try it out. If nothing else, it’s a very cool way to look at some very nice flickr images uploaded by others. I guess with the success of Flickr.com, everyone can’t spell for nuts (i.e. missing letter “E” in “flickr”)… heh, I’m only kidding : )

