I want to be an Artist

I want to be an Artist.

That’s what I replied without hesitation when, in primary school, a teacher asked my class, “What’s your ambition in life?”

Did I know what an artist’s life was about? Certainly not. I was maybe eight at that time. All I knew was I enjoyed doodling and drawing; copying pictures and creating new ones. I’ve always liked drawings and pictures.

Three year old, MeAt three years of age, before I learnt how to read, I was making up my version of the Three Little Pigs from the pictures in the storybook. As I grew older, I continued to enjoy drawing but I would not have replied that I wanted to be an artist, i.e. take up art as a career. It was reinforced in me, over time, that there’s “no future” in pursuing an arts career compared to other more ‘stable professions’. And so I went on to receive a Polytechnic diploma, a University degree, and a Masters degree. Ah, if there only was a crystal ball that told them of the Internet and Globalisation and Knowledge Economies and Creative Industries.

There are, however, no crystal balls; no one can tell predict what the future holds.

But lest you think that I have regrets with the path I’ve taken, I assure you there is none. I believe we simply take the path that presents itself at that point in time.

So now, I’ve embarked on this path of starting this blog for my art and other right-brain pursuits. It’s to bring back the simple life, like the days remembered by the three-year old me.

And the child is saying: I want to be an Artist.