Reinstating a missing Bluetooth device (Mac OS X)

For some reason, my Bluetooth device disappeared from my Macbook Pro. When I clicked on the Bluetooth status and/ or went to check via Systems Preference – Network, it said my Bluetooth device was not installed.

OS X Bluetooth missing

Which was strange because it was working fine just before I shutdown the Mac.

I searched the Apple Support forums. There were a few similar problems reported and most solutions required a reboot. Specifically, I did this and it worked:
Resetting your Mac's PRAM and NVRAM

Resetting PRAM and NVRAM

  1. Locate these keys: Command-Option-P-R keys. You’ll need to press them once you restart your Mac.
  2. Shut down the computer, and then turn it back on.
  3. Quickly press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys before the gray screen appears.
  4. Continue holding until you hear the startup sound for the second time.
  5. Then release the keys.

Source: docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=2238

30 thoughts on “Reinstating a missing Bluetooth device (Mac OS X)

  1. Hey,

    Thanks for the information. My bluetooth disappeared when I turned on my Powerbook this morning and this solved it. I had tried repairing my permissions before I tried this which didn’t help. So, not sure if repairing the permissions also had anything to do with the fix.

  2. Pingback: kozens blog » Ein verschwundes Bluetooth Icon unter Mac OS X (Leopard) wieder zurück bekommen

  3. Thanks for the tip. I have never had a problem with my bluetooth until I installed a wireless keyboard and mouse yesterday. Everything was fine until I shut down my computer at night. When I restarted this morning the wireless devices were not working and bluetooth missing. I followed your above instructions and everything is back on line.

    Not sure if it will be gone again tomorrow though….lol, but for now all is good!!

  4. Nice tip! My mini lost the connection to the Bluetooth keyboard. I’ll find a wired keyboard, plug it in and give this reset a try.

  5. Thanks for the help! I lost my bluetooth wireless mouse and keyboard when I updated my OS, but now it’s all working smoothly.

  6. Thank you very much for the help. I followed your instructions and the BT was there straight away after it went missing. I am a fairly new Mac user so I had no idea what was going on when I couldn’t connect my mouse.

    Thanks again!

  7. This worked for me too. Thanks! I’d gone to the Genius Bar, and they thought it was a hardware problem. Glad I didn’t have it shipped out.

  8. Thank you so much for the excellent advice! My bluetooth mouse was working just fine until a few minutes ago when my mac said that it did not have bluetooth hardware installed on it. I followed your instructions and my bluetooth hardware magically reappeared!

  9. thanks a lot… i was close to freaking out. lol
    bluetooth makes my life easier. thanks a bunch.

  10. Hey there! Thanks a lot for your help! It did work. A blank screen flickered then restarted. Its fine now:)

  11. Thank you for the tip of restarting holding down command-option-p-r. This restored bluetooth that mysteriously disappears from time to time.I use a bluetooth keyboard and a bluetooth trackpad so operating the computer without bluetooth is hard!

  12. Excellent tip, it didn’t work the first time during a restart but tried again with a total shutdown, start up and bingo.
    Thank you.

    iMac, Snow Leopard

  13. THIS WORKS!!

    Thank you Thank you Thank you. This was a weird day already and thank goodness you helped me with my bluetooth issue. Being able to fix it so easily was a needed break!

  14. Thanks for this, it worked perfectly!

    The mouse went for us first. Then the keyboard. Then the whole bluetooth module seemed to disappear. Four-finger salute, and voila! Back to normal again

  15. Thank you!!!!! I had tried various other methods and was about to try to schedule an appointment etc. to have my macbook checked out. You saved me lots of time and effort; I’m so thankful for your post! God bless you!!

  16. thankyou – it worked.
    i really like the way you explain so clearly without using acronyms. So many aspergic tecchies give online advice assuming we are savvy with technology and then mock us because we dont understand what they mean – your advice is friendly and accessible – i think its because you are an artist. many thanks

  17. WOW!! Amazing! This worked for me!! I’m back to using my wireless keyboard and magic trackpad with no issues! Thanks!

  18. I had an electricity spike which wiped out my power supply, I had this replaced but ever since Blue Tooth has not worked, I will try the above when I get home tonight but just wondered if anything else could have gone wrong?

  19. Not worked for me.
    I have tried all tips and advice on forums.
    I think the bluetooth module is gone!

Comments are closed.