Tree in Park (Apr 2006)

Tree in Park (19 Apr 2006)
“Tree in Park”, 19 Apr 2006. Pencil on sketch paper (scanned image: 976 x 875 pixels)

I took the day off two days ago. Woke up that morning and suddenly had the urge to sketch trees! Packed my sketch book, a mechanical pencil, and a digital camera into my sling bag, leashed my dog and off we went on a pleasant cloudy morning to the park. Spent about 10 minutes walking my dog while looking out for suitable trees to sketch. Finally spotted one particular tree that caught my fancy. Put my dog on the bench, took out my sketch pad and pencil and started drawing.

It was one of those moments when my mind was clear, my hand steady, and I instinctly knew what to do. I estimated the overall space needed on the sketch paper, started drawing the roots first before outlining the tree:
190406 Tree In Park 017a

More details were added — leaves, branches, bark texture. I kept reminding myself not to go overboard with the details:
190406 Tree in Park 017b

Finally I finished off the sketch by adding an aspalt path and a bench that was in the background (somehow the picture didn’t look complete without something behind; lacked depth):
190406 Tree in Park 017cTree in Park (19 Apr 2006)

I’d considered inking the sketch over with Indian Ink but decided against it. Ink lacked that subtlety and tonal variation with pencils. Final step was to scan in the sketch, and I touched up the scanned image by adjusting the contrast (the pencil lines don’t show up as well in the scanned image).

9 thoughts on “Tree in Park (Apr 2006)

  1. How wonderful and your explanation of how you did it is very much appreciated. What a wealth of information. Thank you

  2. Nice sketch. Besides adjusting the constrast, soft filters might help bring out the pencil lines and lessen the harsh constrast as seen in the scanned image.

  3. Pingback: The Memory Tree » Blog Archive » Possible drawing for The Memory Tree

  4. thanks for sharing your drawing of the tree and the bench in the background. i love trees. one of my favorite things to draw. there is a park not far from my house and i go there as much as i can and sit among the trees and watch the limbs and the leaves blow. thanks again for sharing your pic.

    sherry

Comments are closed.